Areas of expertise


In response to the coronavirus outbreak, the New Zealand (NZ) government has announced a number of sweeping border restrictions.​


​The three major updates are as follows.

​1. Self-Isolation

​From 16 March 2020, anyone entering NZ from anywhere in the world, except parts of the Pacific, will be expected to self-isolate for 14 days on arrival. This means that if you have arrived in New Zealand from overseas, you must stay home for 14 days and avoid close contact with other people. This restriction will be in place for at least 30 days, and it is being reviewed every 48 hours.​

This applies to everyone, except those arriving from the Islands listed below:

- Cook Islands

- Fiji

- Kiribati

- Marshall Islands

- Federated States of Micronesia

- Nauru

- New Caledonia

- Niue

- Palau

- Papua New Guinea

- Samoa

- Solomon Islands

- Tonga

- Tuvalu

- Vanuatu

- Tokelau

- Wallis and Futuna​

2. Restrictions on entry - China/Iran

​Those who have left or have transited through Mainland China or Iran over the prior 14 days, will continue to be refused entry.

​3. No cruise ships

​There is also a temporary ban on the entry of cruise ships. No cruise ships will enter NZ waters until at least the 30 June 2020.Note: these restrictions do not apply to cargo ships or marine crew. Freight and goods will continue to come into NZ.​

Our advice​

Any current or future employees entering NZ from now on will need to self-isolate for 14 days. As a result, they may be delayed in starting or returning to work, if working from home options cannot be used.